Council members

The Mercy Partners Council currently comprises nine members. The majority are appointed by the Stewards of Mercy Partners and the remainder by the council itself. The council answers directly to the Holy See.

Qualifications of councillors

To be appointed as a councillor, a person must:

  • be a practising member of the Roman Catholic Church
  • embody a sense of spirituality and mission
  • have an adequate understanding of the teachings, discipline, and laws of the Roman Catholic Church
  • comply with any other requirements including formation, business, and other commercial competencies specified in the Mercy Partners Constitution.

Current councillors

Mr Ray Campbell – Chair

Chair – Dr Ray Campbell

Dr Campbell has been a member of the council since December 2009. He is the former Director of Queensland Bioethics Centre and the John Paul II Centre for Family and Life (Archdiocese of Brisbane), and a member of the Research Ethics Committee of St Vincent’s Health and Aged Care, Qld. He has a licentiate in philosophy from the Gregorian University and a doctorate from the John Paul II Institute for Marriage and Family. From 1982 to 1993, Dr Campbell was a lecturer in philosophy, ethics, bioethics, and fundamental theology at the Catholic Theological Union in Sydney.

Sister Sandra Lupi rsm

Deputy Chair – Sister Sandra Lupi rsm

Sr Lupi, a Religious Sister of Mercy, has been a member of the council since September 2012. She was the leader of the Brisbane Mercy Congregation from 2003 to 2013. Initially a primary school teacher in the Brisbane and Toowoomba dioceses, Sr Lupi moved to pastoral roles when she took up appointments at the McAuley Campus of the Australian Catholic University. In the 1990s she worked in the Queensland Department of Housing to address housing needs. She has a Masters in Social Administration from The University of Queensland.

Mr Daryl Hanly

Mr Daryl Hanly OAM

Mr Hanly completed fifty years as a teacher in 2014. As an employee of Education Queensland for thirty-seven years, he served sixteen years as a principal of secondary schools. He then was the inaugural Director of the Education Department’s Centre for Leadership Excellence for five years. For two years Mr Hanly was Director of Education Queensland International, which experience exposed him to international contexts and a variety of leadership models. For the final thirteen years, he was the first lay Principal of St Joseph’s Nudgee College Brisbane, a Year 5-12. Catholic Boarding School for boys. During his career, Mr Hanly held a number of key executive positions at state and national levels, and currently chairs both the Stuartholme School Board, and the St Leo’s College Council.

Ms Dianne Hearn

Ms Dianne Hearn

Ms Hearn was appointed to Mercy Partners Council in July 2014. She has worked in education, adult faith formation and human resource management at a senior level in various Catholic organisations in Queensland and New South Wales. She has close associations with the Queensland Presentation Sisters and their ministries. Ms Hearn is currently a Director in Organisational Change Consultants and holds masters in education and business administration. 

Dr Ricki Jeffery

Dr Ricki Jeffery

Dr Jeffery was appointed to Mercy Partners Council in July 2014. She is currently the Diocesan Director of Centacare: Catholic Diocese of Rockhampton and holds director positions on the Boards of Family Relationships Services Australia and Central Queensland Medicare Local. She previously held the position of Chairman of the Board of Directors of St Ursula’s College Ltd. Dr Jeffery brings to the Council a working knowledge of Education, Primary Health and Community Services delivery in regional areas with particular expertise in building capacity to meet challenges in a conscious and intentional way for ministries operating in regional Australia. She holds a professional doctorate in transdisciplinary studies.

Mr Les Jones

Mr Leslie Jones

Mr Jones was appointed to the council in December 2013. He is also Treasurer and Chair of the Finance Committee. As an Audit Partner with Grant Thornton from 1985 until 2002, Mr Jones audited all ministries and congregational activities of the Sisters of Mercy in Brisbane. He was one of the inaugural members of the All Hallows’ Advisory Committee and worked with the sisters for seven years regarding delegation of powers between the congregation, the committee and the principal, and was on the All Hallows’ Property Development Committee.

Mr Kieran McCarthy

Mr Kieran McCarthy

Mr McCarthy is an Accredited Specialist in Family Law with over twenty years experience, and brings to Council strong networks throughout the state. He is managing partner of Rice Naughton McCarthy, one of Queensland's largest stand-alone specialist Family Law practices. He has been a Councillor for Mercy Partners since 2013, is liaison Councillor for St Rita's College, and has daughters at All Hallows' School. 

Ms Lisa Siganto

Ms Lisa Siganto

Ms Siganto has her own business supporting organisations and leaders to solve social issues. Her experience is across both corporate and non-government organisations in a range of roles including chair, director, CEO, project manager and consultant. Ms Siganto has an MBA from Harvard University and an engineering degree from the University of Queensland. She has been actively involved with All Hallows’ School. She was a student there for 12 years, and her three daughters have also attended. She has had roles with the All Hallows’ Foundation and the Mothers’ Network.

Sr Moira Truelson rsm

Sr Moira Truelson rsm

Sr Truelson, a Religious Sister of Mercy, began her career as a school teacher before moving into Adult Faith Formation. She held the position of Chaplain at the University of Central Queensland and later acted as a tutor for adults participating in the Christian Leadership Program. Sr Moira has been a member of the Leadership Team of the Sisters of Mercy in the Rockhampton Diocese and has studied Leadership, Mission and Spirituality in Berkeley, where she received a Graduate Certificate in Applied Theology in 1994. She spent time in Pakistan reviewing the presence of the Sisters of Mercy in that country and is now Spiritual Adviser to St Vincent de Paul Society in the Diocese of Rockhampton and supports religious women in Papua New Guinea. Sr Moira has previously served as Treasurer and Chair of Mercy Partners Finance Committee with responsibility for the development of the financial systems of the organisation.

^ back to top